MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 156

Introduced by:

Ray Tenori L. F. Kasperbauer Edward J.B. Calvo

Relative to recognizing the Guam Chamber of Commerce on the occasion of its 82st Anniversary, to congratulate and recognize its Member Anniversary Celebrants, and commending its members for their many valuable contributions to the people of Guam.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce was established in 1924 with the goal to unite individuals to improve business and build a better community; and

WHEREAS, on April 26, 1924 prominent businessmen like Pedro Martinez, Chester Carl Butler, H.U. Umstad, Baltazar J. Bordallo, William G. Johnston, J.M. Gillespie and A.H. White, chartered the Guam Chamber of Commerce contributing many measures, and economic resources to enhance the organization; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has provided business people with a venue to cooperate, make our community a better place in which to live and work, and also promote the orderly growth and development of the business community for more than eight decades; and



WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has helped numerous small businesses open their doors, prosper and grow, thus fostering the growth of our local economy and further serving our people; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce consists of more than three hundred twenty members and continues to grow every year; and

WHEREAS, twenty-six member companies of the Guam Chamber of Commerce have celebrated their twenty-fifth to fifty-fifth anniversary; and

WHERAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce instituted the first Guam Business Hall of Fame to honor those Guam businessmen and businesswomen whom have demonstrated a strong vision and ability to improve the economic growth within our island; and

WHEREAS, among the first inductees to the Guam Business Hall of Fame were the founding members of the Guam Chamber of Commerce, Pedro Pangelinan Martinez, Kenneth T. Jones, Jr., Jesus Sablan Leon Guerrero, Governor Joseph Flores, and Eduardo Torres Calvo; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce formed the Armed Forces Committee in 1998 to promote Guam as a rest and relaxation destination for armed forces in the area and to increase local business opportunities by contracting with the military; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has maintained is involvement with and support of community projects over several years, including the Guam Juvenile Drug Court Program, the Summer Youth Swimming and Water Safety Program, the annual Christmas Program, and the Dave J. Santos Scholarship, beautification projects, and a Guam Police Department Partnership; and

WHEREAS, this year's anniversary of the Guam Chamber of Commerce also marks the 55th anniversary of Perez Bros., Inc.; the 45th anniversary of Bank of Hawaii; the 40th anniversary of Xerox Corporation; the 35th anniversary of 3M Company, Deloitte & Touche, LLP, DFS Guam, Guam Capital Investment Corporation (GCIC), McDonald's Restaurant of Guam, Moylan's Insurance Underwriters, Inc.; the 30th anniversary of Blair Sterling Johnson Moody Martinez & Leon Guerrero, P.C., Denson Guam, Personal Finance Center and Travel Pacificana; the 25th anniversary of National Office Supply, Northwest Airlines; the 20th anniversary of Alupang Beach Club, David DDB, Denight Marketing Group, Gerald Woo + Co., JMI Electrical & Air Conditioning, Marianas Credit Bureau, NBK Trading Corporation, Pacific Unlimited, Inc., PMT Guam Corporation, Quality Distributors, and Sanford Technology Group, LLC; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, congratulate the Guam Chamber of Commerce on the occasion of their 82nd Anniversary and does hereby commend the hard work, commitment and accomplishments of the Guam Chamber of Commerce leadership of its members, who are the driving force behind its achievements and for their invaluable contributions to the people of Guam; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the President of the Guam Chamber of Commerce, Eloise R. Baza, and the Executive Committee of the 2006 Guam Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, Chairman Michael T. Benito; Vice Chairman, Stephen C. Ruder; Secretary-Treasurer, Jerold W. Filush; Special Excutive Committee Member, Brian Artero; Immediate Past Chairman Monty A. McDowell; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE _____ DAY OF APRIL 2006.

MARK FORBES Speaker and Executive Committee, Chairman EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature